Blogging for a free world

Those Who Sacrifice Liberty For Security Deserve Neither (Benjamin Franklin)

Pakistani girl leaps form balcony to flee arranged marriage

with 2 comments

A 15-year-old Pakistani girl was hospitalised after reportedly jumping from a balcony in the northern Italian town of Alessandria.

She had refused an arranged marriage with a 16-year-old Pakistani.

“My parents had already been in touch with his and told me I would be marrying him. I have nothing against him but I do not love him,” Turin-based La Stampa daily quoted the girl as telling police from her hospital bed on Wednesday.

La Stampa called the girl ‘Piccola’ and said medics had operated on fractures to her legs sustained after falling from the family’s balcony onto a roof below.

Piccola, who has grown up in Italy, is said to be well integrated here. She wears western-style clothes and has Italian schoolfriends.

“I told my parents that I didn’t love the boy and why should I live with him?” Piccola reportedly told the police.

H/T Velvet Hammer.

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

Written by Claudia

July 14, 2008 at 3:30 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the hat tip.🙂

    velvethammer

    July 15, 2008 at 6:56 pm

  2. You’re welcome…😆

    blogfreeworld

    July 15, 2008 at 7:58 pm


Leave a Reply

